The Olympic torch in Pontcysyllte

With a victory parade being held in London today to mark the success of the London Olympics 2012, here at vanplusfour.com HQ we think this might be the perfect excuse to slightly divert from our usual van & dog pictures and showcase the early morning pics we took when the Olympic torch arrived on the aqueduct in the neighbouring village of Trevor at the end of May ^-^

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

Olympic torch at Pontcysyllte

I took the day off work and got up VERY early to schlep my father-in-law and one of our nephews to Trevor basin where we queued very patiently for over 2 hours only to find the torch arrived, crossed the aqueduct and went back on the road in what seemed like 2 seconds flat…..
Still, I guess I must be more patriotic than I let on as my boss [who is Austrian] was very surprised to hear I bothered to watch a [fake] flame being carried across a [very impressive] aqueduct but I guess if – like me – you had listened to the Chris Moyles show every morning during the build up to the Olympics you probably would have been caught up in all the Olympic hype too ^-^. I’m glad I went – I will be able to bore people for years to come with stories of how we queued and saw the flame cross a very magical place. I particularly liked how the stars of the show – the world famous Fron choir – took out their mobiles and cameras to record the young lady with the torch while happily singing their songs, priceless ^-^

4 thoughts on “The Olympic torch in Pontcysyllte

  1. these are fab photos. this was they day before mine and nicks wedding. it was the calm before the storm for us, we went to watch the torch then said “right… lets get cracking” and had to then start the mad rush of delivering things to venues and greeting guests that were arriving the day before! x x

    • ….and just think, while I was busy taking pics and you were busy gettin super excited about your wedding we could have ACTUALLY walked past one another and not even known about it???!!!!
      soooooooooooo looking forward to seeing you soon ^_^

Leave a Reply

