Minera [World’s End] – North Wales

Minera North Wales February 2013

In the absence of van pictures we’ve all had to do a spot of modelling for this post. Some more successfully than others…. The dogs are obviously naturals at this and even Mr. B. is almost a pro [coyly demanding I stop taking his pictures while secretly positioning himself in a most flattering manner. I see what you’re doing Mr. B., busted!]. But me, I am definitely a behind the scenes kinda girl and prefer pulling the strings in the background rather than flaunting myself in front of the camera. [Nobody needs to see my crooked teeth. And pale complexion. Or split ends. And don’t even get me started on those spots. I left puberty behind DECADES ago???!!! ^_^] But I’m also a trooper when necessary and if it’s gotta be done then you might as well use oversized glasses & flattering black & white filters. Thank God I’m the one editing all pics as I’m not too sure Mr. B. always gets the beauty of *filter over reality*, ha!

Minera North Wales February 2013

Here we are then in Minera, once upon a time a lead & zinc mine. Wikepedia tells me that the mine was closed down in 1914 and some buildings now serve as a visitor centre. I’m clearly not yet as Welsh as I’d like to be as although we’ve been to Minera countless times we’ve never actually set foot inside the centre. Oops! Last year we ventured up onto Minera to avoid the fireworks being let off (and unsettling the dogs) on Guy Fawkes night which was a bit of a surreal experience as a) despite the panoramic view from up there we did not actually see any soundless fireworks (boo) b) it was so dark we could not see where we were going and almost missed the path (cringe) and c) it rained [of course!]. So this year we might try Talacre Beach [lighthouse as featured in the recent Dulux ad] and freeze in the van over a midnight picnic or something ^_^

Minera North Wales Feb 2013

Minera North Wales Feb 2013

Minera North Wales Feb 2013

Minera North Wales February 2013

Minera North Wales Feb 2013

Minera North Wales Feb 2013

Minera North Wales Feb 2013

Minera North Wales February 2013

Minera North Wales February 2013

Minera North Wales February 2013

Minera North Wales Welsh Border Collie February 2013

Minera North Wales Welsh Border Collie February 2013

So there we have it. North Wales. Dogs. Crooked teeth. Oversized shades and glorious sunshine = happy days.

We’ve already had 2 day trips in the van and our first weekender is happening mid March. On a scale of 1 – 10 on the excitement level I’m probably already a 12 ^_^_^_^_^_^_^_^_^

12 thoughts on “Minera [World’s End] – North Wales

  1. Gorgeous photos! Sunshine too!

    We have been known to go away in our van to avoid Dixie being traumatised by fireweeks on Bonfire Night – the middle of the North Yorkshire Moors has been a succesful quiet spot for us.

    • We’ve been very lucky with the weather recently Chrissie – it would appear that after some heavy snowfall to start off the year we are now in mid Summer??!! Ha!

      I’ve always had a thing about North Yorkshire [I spent 3 years in Richmond in the late nineties/early noughties] and if Mr. B. wasn’t Welsh – well….. who knows!? Henry’s 10 in summer and he will probably need Dixie to woof to him VERY LOUDLY (to quote someone from your blog) so hopefully the fireworks won’t bother him as much this year. As for Maisie – she’s streetwise, let’s just leave it at that ^_^
      Enjoy the rest of your Sunday,
      Babs

  2. Terrific photos. I love the way you switch between the larger photos and the montages of the dogs gamboling etc. Stunning skies – looks like an idyllic spot. Am very jealous of the van lifestyle, if we could afford one, and find room for the nippers, I’m pretty sure we’d join the club.

    • Thanks for such a nice comment mister ^_^ You don’t need a van to do the hiking & shooting (although it IS nice hehe) and those nippers will be ready for camping in no time at all. We’re not parents so I can’t comment on *how to camp with kids* but according to my bezzies – alcohol helps……….? ^_^

      Disclaimer: here at vanplusfour we do not condone a mixing of parenting / camping / drinking. But if we had to do it we would do it with pink bubbles. Defo ^_^

      • We have a trailer tent and the kids have been ‘blooded’ very young into the whole camping thing. They love it. Actually, it’s mostly fairly easy once the tents’ up because they can wander about, play with their friends etc – they keep themselves well occupied.
        They’re quite keen to try wild camping too, but I can’t get my head round the logistics since there is no way that my wife will join me which seems to me mean I would have to carry an awful lot of stuff. Also we would need to but all that stuff which causes its own problems.

      • Maybe you should join forces with Mr B – he’s quite keen to do wild camping. And although in my head that sounds AMAZING am not quite sure I could actually do it. Time will tell ^_^

Leave a Reply

