Anglesey, North Wales –> The Anniversary Series

Last year, our anniversary was all about this: [I bet you weren’t expecting to see one of these now, were you kids ^_^]

Lobster Pot Anglesey North Wales

I’d heard a lot of good things about the Lobster Pot on Anglesey but we were never quite close enough to fully enjoy a great simple meal, a gorgeous glass of wine AND afternoon walkies around Church Bay. As it is also my birthday the day after our wedding anniversary [there’s a story behind that which I might share one of these days, we’ll see…..], last year I DEMANDED that Mr. B take me there.

He was more than happy to oblige and once we’d chucked some overnight stuff in the van we were on our very merry way to the Isle now best known for its famous Royal residents.

Lobster Pot Anglesey North Wales

Kate & Wills were busy on that particular Saturday afternoon which is why we chose to stay at the Ty Newydd campsite instead. And why not – it’s an informal field right opposite the restaurant and leads almost directly onto the Wales Coastal Path. Win/win. We were not bothered about facilities [if I remember rightly they do have a single shower and a toilet which for us was more than adequate. After all – we came for lobster. Not for the loo…..]

Anglesey

So we parked up. Got out. And went for walkies.

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey 2012-11

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

We were just chillin. Enjoying life. The sea. The island. And the view.

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

Anglesey

And now to the main event. Brought to you via smartphones:

Anglesey

The Lobster Pot used to be an ordinary house I was told. It probably has not been updated since it was transformed into a restaurant ex number of years ago. It has an old kinda charm to it. People speak Welsh! If you want new, flash, gastro pub kinda atmosphere don’t go. This is a great place with great food in a great place. It was absolutely packed when we went. We had a couple of pints of beer, demolished a whole lobster [well. I did. Mr. B opted for other seafood] and came away feeling we’d had an experience rather than just a meal. Verdict: 5/5 ^_^

The Lobster Pot *** Church Bay *** Anglesey *** North Wales ***

Oh, and just a little teaser: here’s a picture highlighting what the weather was like when we went on this year’s anniversary adventure, can you guess where we went?

Snowdon

16 thoughts on “Anglesey, North Wales –> The Anniversary Series

  1. Mmmm! Lobster! I’m off to Anglesey right now.
    Snowdon in the snow on your anniversary, you old romantics :)
    PS absolutely love that photo of your dog looking very wet

    • Hm. Yes. Henry is *somewhat* partial to being a total pig, rolling around in sh*t & stuff ^_^ Can you believe this time last year we were strolling around in short sleeved shirts??? This morning North Wales looked like there’d been a disaster as people abandoned their cars in up to 4 inches of snow!!!???

  2. Happy Birthday Mrs.B, and happy anniversary too. Wonderful pictures, I was wondering if that wet doggy got to sleep in the van that night or was he/she banished for the evening. Oh, and NO guess on the location of that last snowy pic.

    • Am not much of a birthday girl really [I don’t like fuss but if people don’t remember my birthday I don’t ever forget’n forgive…..it’s a female thing I’m guessing?!] but as it was my birthday Henry the dog was allowed to party on down AND join us in the van after. It wasn’t a pretty smell but we just love him, what can I say ^_^
      until soon my friend,
      Babs B

    • You definitely should! Wonder how you first *proper* van trip went? How cold did it get? We did not manage to get the van out over Easter and need to fit the 2 new seats in the front now [having a swivel will open the van up no end]. Let me tell ya – I really CANNOT WAIT to get out’n about ^_^

      • It went well, it was nippy at night, but not as cold as N/E Wales!!. We will have to have a runout and inspect vans.

  3. Looks idyllic. I don’t think I’ve ever tried lobster. Went to a couple of places which served it in Jersey, but felt embarrassed to order it since somebody else was footing the bill. Maybe we will divert that way when we’re in North Wales this summer. I guess Andy (surfnslide) will be an ally if I suggest it. Happy birthday btw.

    • Hi Mark. Some people (mainly women I think) have *issues* with the lobster thing. Maybe I’m hard as nails (ha!) but I was quite excited about crunching. munching. enjoying. appreciating. and devouring the whole lobster ^_^ So if you get the opportunity to have fresh lobster by the sea: do it!
      And thanks for the birthday wishes. Another year older but no wiser ^_^

  4. We stayed with friends in Anglesey many years ago, really nice place to walk around, great post and great weather, not much of that around at the moment, I was at the volksworld show yesterday, there was a few nice vans there too.

    • I gotta be honest. I had never ever heard of Volksworld before. And if it wasn’t for some of my blogger & Insta friends I probably still wouldn’t know anything about it ^_^ As you’re a proper petrolhead [how’s Hank?] I’m sure you had a fabulous time! Now what about this CarFest gig, sounds amazing!? Perhaps a little far down for us but am already looking forward to seeing how Hank will fare, I bet you’ll have some gorgeous pics to tempt us with for next year ^_^
      PS: the snow in North Wales is now steadily melting. We definitely deserve a bit of that illusive Spring next!!!

    • Am about to publish this year’s adventure (v tame compared to what you guys get up to all the time!) but thanks for tuning in anyway, always nice to *see* you Siri Ann ^_^ How long will you carry on travelling?

    • Thanks so much Roman! Sorry it’s taken a while to say *thanks* but my admin is clearly…………well, not very German, ha!
      Until soon my friend,
      Babs

  5. Pingback: Happy 5th wedding anniversary β™₯ | van plus 4

Leave a Reply

