New Farm House, Builth Wells, Powys –> Mid Wales

At the beginning of August we went down to Builth Wells for the day to go and meet the twins for the very first time. Perfect opportunity for a little overnighter. After a quick Google search of the area it looked like New House Farm by Rhosgoch in Powys would be a nice little spot to hang out.

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK
Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

And it was. There was nobody other than a gorgeous Henry look-alike Collie at the farm so we left a note by the door to say we had arrived and headed off to the field. We didn’t feel like doing anything. Or seeing anything. We just wanted to hang out. I guess one of the great things about having a dog (or three…) is that when you get somewhere you always feel like walking somewhere. Whether you want to or not.

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK
Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK
Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK
Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK
Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK
[Are you kidding, of course I was tempted to smooth out those wrinkles, straighten that nose and get rid of those Dracula teeth. I actually made my husband re-take the same shot 12 times (you can see how fed up he became in the shot below mwahaha) I even tried to eliminate the looming wrinkle/nose/teeth drama at source by adding the biggest insect-eye shaped sunglasses ever…]

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

I gave up in the end and just enjoyed some beer watching the world go by after a leisurely stroll through some gorgeous countryside to the Roast Ox Inn at Painscastle.

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells-20

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

Back on the field/in the van we cooked us some simple dinner and played the Simpsons Monopoly over some wine (I lost. What’s new). It wasn’t exactly the most adrenaline-filled overnighter but it was nice to actually just do not a lot.

The New House Farm camping field was right up my street: no facilities (apart from the obligatory toilet/wash block by the house), no EHU, no crowds, stunning scenery, friendly owners. All that for a fiver. Would happily return tomorrow!

Builth Wells, Powys, Mid Wales, UK

9 thoughts on “New Farm House, Builth Wells, Powys –> Mid Wales

  1. some absolutely lovely photos there! Are they all taken with the Nikon? Also you are within a spit of my home area as Builth is only 70 miles away and a very nice area it is too :)

    How are the twins settling in now? (or darent I ask?!)

    • Yes, all taken with my trusted old Nikon 5000. I would loooooooooooooooooooooooooooove a new camera! Or even a new lens. But seeing as we’ve invited the twins to live with us I guess it’s only fair to put their needs first. They eat like little monsters!? They have diamond encrusted beds (of course they haven’t. But for the price the pet shops can afford to charge they might as well be!!!?). We were lucky and could borrow a crate but ideally the twins should soon have one each. There goes my lens :( I am compensating by learning how to make the most of LightRoom and have just discovered their brilliant gradient filters, can highly recommend.
      Twins have settled in brilliantly! Don’t get me wrong – they are a LOT of work! But we’re lucky to have 2 mentors who are helping us to stay on the right track and (hopefully!) turn them into Search & Rescue dogs. I am happy to sacrifice my kitchen table and door insulation for the good of the Welsh hiking nation ;)

  2. Nice photos, and beautiful scenery (as always). I didn’t even mind the wrinkles… We have been doing a few little odds and ends to our van, and I’m ready to slip away for an overnighter. But first I have to shop for a new folding camp chair, mine “bit the dust” on our last VanSlam. Cheers

    • Camping chairs. Hm. I gave in to temptation and made Mr. B. splash out on a neon green moon chair. Which is ridiculously comfy. But most of the time too big to take……..false economy. I guess that’s (most) women for ya ^_^

  3. You are like, soooo vain :)
    Wonderful countryside quite close to my home. Not walked the hills as much as I’d like so I need to get out there. Some great scenery (and pubs!) as you’ve discovered.
    Photos are cracking as always. Do you have them stored online anywhere where I might be able to see the settings you used. I’m still experimenting with mine but I can’t quite get the same effects you seem to manage especially with the broad sky-scape shots

    • OMG. Don’t get me started on settings lol Technically I am probably THE worst photographer out there. But I am getting better at knowing what I want my pictures to look like and then somehow make it happen. I’ve gotta admit I do quite a bit of editing in LightRoom 4 and for landscape photography (the Babs way) you can get away with large apertures (for depth of field) and not so much shutterspeed (my Achilles heel…). I tend to struggle (often) with the right focus but I guess that’s because I’m not that good at checking and re-checking my images on the camera display until I get it right. I’ve recently thrown myself out there and am forever volunteering to take different kinds of shots so that I can learn (fast action shots are the worst for me. Can’t get it right at all. That’s Mr. B’s bag and he enjoys fiddling with the settings). It’s all trial and error at the end of the day. The more you do the more you learn the more you get to where it is you wanna get (I am actually also really enjoying industrial photography with a touch of landscape colour drama, weird). We probably won’t get out & about now until January/February (waiting for the twins to be strong enough) and will definitely miss looking at fabulous scenery like the one close to your home ^_^
      I don’t store my pics online BTW – do you?

Leave a Reply

